Archive for Members in the News

Cultural Intersections in Music Therapy: Music, Health, and the Person—Book launch

Cultural Intersections in Music Therapy: Music, Health, and the Person—Book launchCo-editors: Annette Whitehead-Pleaux, MA, MT-BC and Xueli Tan, PhD, MT-BC

Tuesday, May 2, 2017 from 6:30pm – 8:00pm 

Washburn Lounge, Brattle Campus (10 Phillips Place, Cambridge)

· This is the first comprehensive textbook on multicultural dimensions of music therapy. The editors pass the literary microphone to the authors—all music therapists who have found belonging and identity in diverse cultures. The authors examine how music therapy is relevant within an individual’s cultural context through personal and scholarly explorations. The chapters are separated into three sections: 1) understanding oppression and bias; 2) minority cultures within North America; and 3) inclusive music therapy practice and education. This focused examination prompts the reader to listen to myriad minority voices and engage in cultural dialogues. Light refreshments will be served. Copies of the book will be available for purchase, or you may review and purchase the book at http://www.barcelonapublishers.com/multicultural-intersections-music-health-the-person

· TO RSVP, please visit https://cultural-intersections-in-music-therapy-book.eventbrite.com

Interview on Hospice Music Therapy with Lisa Kinvy

The international relations committee is interested in your story!

The international relations committee is interested in your story! if you have gone out of the country, and provided music therapy services, we would appreciate if you would send some information about what you did. We want to hear about all the wonderful connections we are making around the world through music therapy. We would love it if you could share your story, and pictures, if you have any! It is very exciting that so many people are reaching out to other countries and demonstrating the power of music and music therapy. What great connections we are making all around the globe! Send your information to: jlevine@churchhomes.org

 

RI Representatives of Finance, State, Links, and Please oppose article 20 Template

Dear Fellow Music Therapists:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to help us with our continued advocacy in RI and to thank you for your support and assistance in passing legislation last year.  Your efforts were noted by our legislators. 
For those of you who may be hearing this for the first time, last year RI passed legislation to create a registry in the state of RI. The bill passed and we are waiting on the completion of our registry.  Unfortunately, our governor has just proposed her budget with an article (article 20) that would repeal the registry passed last year.  I have grave concerns regarding the negative impact this could have not only in RI but also in setting a pattern across the country. 

I am reaching out again to request assistance in RI.  I am attaching a template to send to the representatives in RI (I am also attaching two sets of emails). The most important representative would be the heads of the house committee on finance (Representative Gallison)  If you copy or forward correspondence to handsinharmonyri@yahoo.com we will also create a database to ensure all testimony was received by the appropriate individuals. 

Thank you again for your response and assistance. 

Respectfully , 
 
Nicole 

Nicole O’Malley MT-BC, NMT
Neurologic Music Therapist Board Certified 
Hands in Harmony LLC
401-783-4810
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/ComMembers/ComMemr.asp?ComChoiceR=HFIN
House Committee on Finance 

Legislator
Appointment
E-mail
  Representative Marvin L. Abney
  Member
  Representative Gregg Amore
  Member
  Representative Jean-Phillipe Barros
  Member
  Representative John M. Carnevale
  Vice Chairman
  Representative Raymond E. Gallison Jr.
  Chairman
  Representative Antonio Giarrusso
  Member
  Representative Joy Hearn
  Member
  Representative Raymond A. Hull
  Member
  Representative Robert B. Jacquard
  Secretary
  Representative Jan Malik
  Member
  Representative Kenneth A. Marshall
  Member
  Representative Patricia L. Morgan
  Member
  Representative Eileen S. Naughton
  Deputy Chairwoman
  Representative Daniel P. Reilly
  Member
  Representative Deborah Ruggiero
  Member
  Representative Patricia A. Serpa
  Member
  Representative Scott Slater
  Member
  Representative Teresa Ann Tanzi
  Member
  Representative Carlos E. Tobon
  Member
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Email/RepEmailListDistrict.asp
District
Title
Email
Phone
Bio
1
  Rep. Edith H. Ajello   rep-ajello@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 274-7078
Bio
2
  Rep. Christopher R. Blazejewski   rep-blazejewski@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 484-8814
Bio
3
  Rep. Thomas A. Palangio   rep-palangio@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 248-8877
Bio
4
  J. Aaron Regunberg   rep-regunberg@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2466
Bio
5
  Rep. John J. DeSimone   rep-desimone@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 351-7373
Bio
6
  Rep. Raymond A. Hull   rep-hull@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 272-4026
Bio
7
  Rep. Daniel P. McKiernan   rep-mckiernan@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2466
Bio
8
  Rep. John Joseph Lombardi   rep-lombardi@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 453-3900
Bio
9
  Rep. Anastasia Williams   rep-williams@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 272-8135
Bio
10
  Rep. Scott Slater   rep-slater@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 741-7641
Bio
11
  Rep. Grace Diaz   rep-diaz@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 467-8413
Bio
12
  Rep. Joseph S. Almeida   rep-almeida@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 467-7033
Bio
13
  Rep. John M. Carnevale   rep-carnevale@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 274-1353
Bio
14
  Rep. Charlene Lima   rep-lima@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2258
Bio
15
  Rep. Nicholas A. Mattiello   rep-mattiello@rilin.state.ri.us   (401)222-2466
Bio
16
  Rep. Robert B. Lancia   rep-lancia@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
17
  Rep. Robert B. Jacquard   rep-jacquard@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 943-7799
Bio
18
  Rep. Arthur Handy   rep-handy@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 785-8996
Bio
19
  Rep. Joseph M. McNamara   rep-mcnamara@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 941-8319
Bio
20
  Rep. David A. Bennett   rep-bennett@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 648-1711
Bio
21
  Rep. Eileen S. Naughton   rep-naughton@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 738-7928
Bio
22
  Rep. Joseph J. Solomon, Jr.   rep-solomon@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 308-3904
Bio
23
  Rep. K. Joseph Shekarchi   rep-shekarchi@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 827-0100
Bio
24
  Rep. Joseph A. Trillo   rep-trillo@aol.com   (401) 826-9100
Bio
25
  Rep. Jared R. Nunes   rep-nunes@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 821-8693
Bio
26
  Rep. Patricia L. Morgan   rep-morgan@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
27
  Rep. Patricia A. Serpa   rep-serpa@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 828-5687
Bio
28
  Rep. Robert A. Nardolillo   rep-nardolillo@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
29
  Rep. Sherry Roberts   rep-roberts@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
30
  Rep. Antonio Giarrusso   rep-giarrusso@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 415-5390
Bio
31
  Rep. Doreen Marie Costa   rep-costa@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 206-6891
Bio
32
  Rep. Robert E. Craven, Sr.   rep-craven@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 294-2222
Bio
33
  VACANT      —
Bio
34
  Rep. Teresa Ann Tanzi   rep-tanzi@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 527-9468
Bio
35
  Rep. Kathleen A. Fogarty   rep-fogarty@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2466
Bio
36
  Rep. Blake A. Filippi   rep-filippi@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2466
Bio
37
  Rep. Samuel A. Azzinaro   rep-azzinaro@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 596-1434
Bio
38
  Rep. Brian Patrick Kennedy   rep-kennedy@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 377-8818
Bio
39
  Rep. Justin Price   rep-Price@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
40
  Rep. Michael W. Chippendale   rep-chippendale@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 497-4495
Bio
41
  Rep. Michael J. Marcello   rep-marcello@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 647-5905
Bio
42
  Rep. Stephen R. Ucci   rep-ucci@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 934-2121
Bio
43
  Rep. Deborah A. Fellela   rep-fellela@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 231-2014
Bio
44
  Rep.Gregory J. Costantino   rep-costantino@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 426-0284
Bio
45
  Rep. Mia Ackerman   rep-ackerman@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 658-0981
Bio
46
  Rep. Jeremiah T. O’Grady   rep-ogrady@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 725-7163
Bio
47
  Rep. Cale P. Keable   rep-keable@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2258
Bio
48
  Rep. Brian C. Newberry   rep-newberry@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
49
  Rep. Michael A. Morin

Media featuring NER Music Therapist Joy Indomenico!

Cape Cod Times, March 27, 2014
http://www.capecodonline.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20140327/LIFE/403270307

NER Member Krystal Demaine’s dissertation abstract was published in the APA Journal Psychomusicology

Krystal Demaine dissertation abstract was published in the APA Journal Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain. Here is the reference. Demaine, K. (2013). Musical echolalia and non-verbal children with autism. Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain, 23(3), 202-203.

 

BIG congratulations to her on the publication of her valuable research!

Back Bay Patch features Berklee Students

http://backbay.patch.com/groups/sian-wittkes-blog/p/berklee-brings-music-therapy-to-the-75-pianos-around-the-citys-public-spaces?a_dgi=aolshare_facebook

CNN.com story on Music Therapy

Boston Children’s Hospital Music Therapist Brian Jantz is featured in this article on CNN.com

http://www.cnn.com/2013/08/23/health/music-therapy/index.html