Archive for NER Business

AMTA Scholarship reviewers needed 

Hello NER-AMTA Members, Rebecca Preddie, AMTA Scholarship & Grants Coordinator is looking for some willing Scholarship Reviewers (5-6 volunteers) that will be part of the AMTA Scholarship Review Committee. This is a great opportunity for NER-AMTA members who do not have the ability to be involved in large, year round projects, but DO have the ability to work from home for short periods of time.  

By agreeing to be a Scholarship Reviewer, you must be a current AMTA member. You will review for at least three AMTA scholarships offered within the calendar year (January 2017 – December 2017), will be provided with blinded applications and rubric sheets (in the majority of cases), and will typically have 7-10 days to review 2-10 brief applications and return results. If you are interested, please send your name and email address to judynengel@gmail.com before 5/13/17.  

Please note: this is FIRST-COME, FIRST-SERVED, you will be notified if your name is submitted to AMTA.  
Judy Engel, MM, MT-BC

NERAMTA Bylaws and Constitution Merge

Hello NER-AMTA Members,
The Bylaws Committee has been tasked with the BIG job of merging our two current documents the NER-AMTA Constitutions and NER-AMTA Bylaws which governs our regional organization.
The merging of both documents is to streamline these documents into one; to follow AMTA’s model of their Bylaws, to avoid duplicity, and to make updates.
Please review the newly merged document entitled NER-AMTA Bylaws to understand the rationale behind each change. However in summary, the changes include:
-General language used, to be more inclusive and forward-thinking
-Delineate elected officers versus appointed officers and to clarify their roles
-Update and include additional positions to the current leadership that are not listed in NER’s current documents
The NERAMTA members will vote on this newly merged document, to replace our current two documents on Friday March 31st during the Business Luncheon at the Spring Conference in Newport, RI, to go into effect on March 31, 2017.  Please review before then and send any constructive comments/feedback to judynengel@gmail.com for considerations by 3/29/17.

Looking to contact our communications team?

To reach our social media, website and newsletter outreach, you can connect with us here: http://www.musictherapynewengland.org/contact-us/

or directly at communications@musictherapynewengland.org

Business Meeting Minutes 11/12/16

draft-business-meeting-november-12-2016

RI Representatives of Finance, State, Links, and Please oppose article 20 Template

Dear Fellow Music Therapists:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to help us with our continued advocacy in RI and to thank you for your support and assistance in passing legislation last year.  Your efforts were noted by our legislators. 
For those of you who may be hearing this for the first time, last year RI passed legislation to create a registry in the state of RI. The bill passed and we are waiting on the completion of our registry.  Unfortunately, our governor has just proposed her budget with an article (article 20) that would repeal the registry passed last year.  I have grave concerns regarding the negative impact this could have not only in RI but also in setting a pattern across the country. 

I am reaching out again to request assistance in RI.  I am attaching a template to send to the representatives in RI (I am also attaching two sets of emails). The most important representative would be the heads of the house committee on finance (Representative Gallison)  If you copy or forward correspondence to handsinharmonyri@yahoo.com we will also create a database to ensure all testimony was received by the appropriate individuals. 

Thank you again for your response and assistance. 

Respectfully , 
 
Nicole 

Nicole O’Malley MT-BC, NMT
Neurologic Music Therapist Board Certified 
Hands in Harmony LLC
401-783-4810
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/ComMembers/ComMemr.asp?ComChoiceR=HFIN
House Committee on Finance 

Legislator
Appointment
E-mail
  Representative Marvin L. Abney
  Member
  Representative Gregg Amore
  Member
  Representative Jean-Phillipe Barros
  Member
  Representative John M. Carnevale
  Vice Chairman
  Representative Raymond E. Gallison Jr.
  Chairman
  Representative Antonio Giarrusso
  Member
  Representative Joy Hearn
  Member
  Representative Raymond A. Hull
  Member
  Representative Robert B. Jacquard
  Secretary
  Representative Jan Malik
  Member
  Representative Kenneth A. Marshall
  Member
  Representative Patricia L. Morgan
  Member
  Representative Eileen S. Naughton
  Deputy Chairwoman
  Representative Daniel P. Reilly
  Member
  Representative Deborah Ruggiero
  Member
  Representative Patricia A. Serpa
  Member
  Representative Scott Slater
  Member
  Representative Teresa Ann Tanzi
  Member
  Representative Carlos E. Tobon
  Member
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Email/RepEmailListDistrict.asp
District
Title
Email
Phone
Bio
1
  Rep. Edith H. Ajello   rep-ajello@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 274-7078
Bio
2
  Rep. Christopher R. Blazejewski   rep-blazejewski@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 484-8814
Bio
3
  Rep. Thomas A. Palangio   rep-palangio@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 248-8877
Bio
4
  J. Aaron Regunberg   rep-regunberg@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2466
Bio
5
  Rep. John J. DeSimone   rep-desimone@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 351-7373
Bio
6
  Rep. Raymond A. Hull   rep-hull@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 272-4026
Bio
7
  Rep. Daniel P. McKiernan   rep-mckiernan@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2466
Bio
8
  Rep. John Joseph Lombardi   rep-lombardi@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 453-3900
Bio
9
  Rep. Anastasia Williams   rep-williams@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 272-8135
Bio
10
  Rep. Scott Slater   rep-slater@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 741-7641
Bio
11
  Rep. Grace Diaz   rep-diaz@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 467-8413
Bio
12
  Rep. Joseph S. Almeida   rep-almeida@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 467-7033
Bio
13
  Rep. John M. Carnevale   rep-carnevale@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 274-1353
Bio
14
  Rep. Charlene Lima   rep-lima@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2258
Bio
15
  Rep. Nicholas A. Mattiello   rep-mattiello@rilin.state.ri.us   (401)222-2466
Bio
16
  Rep. Robert B. Lancia   rep-lancia@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
17
  Rep. Robert B. Jacquard   rep-jacquard@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 943-7799
Bio
18
  Rep. Arthur Handy   rep-handy@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 785-8996
Bio
19
  Rep. Joseph M. McNamara   rep-mcnamara@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 941-8319
Bio
20
  Rep. David A. Bennett   rep-bennett@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 648-1711
Bio
21
  Rep. Eileen S. Naughton   rep-naughton@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 738-7928
Bio
22
  Rep. Joseph J. Solomon, Jr.   rep-solomon@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 308-3904
Bio
23
  Rep. K. Joseph Shekarchi   rep-shekarchi@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 827-0100
Bio
24
  Rep. Joseph A. Trillo   rep-trillo@aol.com   (401) 826-9100
Bio
25
  Rep. Jared R. Nunes   rep-nunes@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 821-8693
Bio
26
  Rep. Patricia L. Morgan   rep-morgan@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
27
  Rep. Patricia A. Serpa   rep-serpa@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 828-5687
Bio
28
  Rep. Robert A. Nardolillo   rep-nardolillo@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
29
  Rep. Sherry Roberts   rep-roberts@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
30
  Rep. Antonio Giarrusso   rep-giarrusso@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 415-5390
Bio
31
  Rep. Doreen Marie Costa   rep-costa@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 206-6891
Bio
32
  Rep. Robert E. Craven, Sr.   rep-craven@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 294-2222
Bio
33
  VACANT      —
Bio
34
  Rep. Teresa Ann Tanzi   rep-tanzi@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 527-9468
Bio
35
  Rep. Kathleen A. Fogarty   rep-fogarty@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2466
Bio
36
  Rep. Blake A. Filippi   rep-filippi@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2466
Bio
37
  Rep. Samuel A. Azzinaro   rep-azzinaro@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 596-1434
Bio
38
  Rep. Brian Patrick Kennedy   rep-kennedy@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 377-8818
Bio
39
  Rep. Justin Price   rep-Price@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
40
  Rep. Michael W. Chippendale   rep-chippendale@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 497-4495
Bio
41
  Rep. Michael J. Marcello   rep-marcello@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 647-5905
Bio
42
  Rep. Stephen R. Ucci   rep-ucci@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 934-2121
Bio
43
  Rep. Deborah A. Fellela   rep-fellela@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 231-2014
Bio
44
  Rep.Gregory J. Costantino   rep-costantino@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 426-0284
Bio
45
  Rep. Mia Ackerman   rep-ackerman@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 658-0981
Bio
46
  Rep. Jeremiah T. O’Grady   rep-ogrady@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 725-7163
Bio
47
  Rep. Cale P. Keable   rep-keable@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2258
Bio
48
  Rep. Brian C. Newberry   rep-newberry@rilin.state.ri.us   (401) 222-2259
Bio
49
  Rep. Michael A. Morin

Future Conference Needs Survey for the NER-AMTA

As part of the NER-AMTA Strategic Plan and to better serve the membership, this survey is to gather information and opinions regarding future regional conferences. Please take a moment to fill out this survey. It will help us better serve you.

2015 Future Conference Needs Survey

2015 NER Conference Scholars Announced

Congratulations to this year’s NER Conference Scholarship award winners:

Marissa Ruffini
Janna Frelich
Linda LaSalle
Thank you to all who applied!

Upcoming NER Elections

All current NER-AMTA members:

We will be electing a new slate of officers as well as Assembly Delegates at our upcoming regional conference.

 

We are seeking nominations for Assembly Delegates. All members in good standing are eligible for nomination. The Assembly of Delegates is the legislative and policy-making body of AMTA.   Each region sends a certain number of delegates, based on regional membership numbers.

 

Currently, NER sits a 5-delagate representation in the Assembly; the President assumes one of those spots. We also are required to have alternates in the case a primary delegate is not available. Delegates also serve as part of the executive board of NER (voting member).

The NER delegates serve as a voice of the region. All delegates must make a commitment to attend national conferences, as this is when Assembly business is conducted. This is a 2-year commitment, with opportunity to serve again if nominated and voted in.

 

If you are interested in this position, I would encourage you to review:

Expectations of the roles of Assembly Delegate and Alternate: http://youtu.be/hoYACzlYHnM

 

Please submit your nomination and a brief bio directly to Eve Montague, MT-BC, Immediate Past-President, NER at evemontague@verizon.net

 

Nominations must be received no later than Friday April 10, 2015.

West Music Membership Benefit

Join AMTA and get 20% off at West Music! West Music would like to offer AMTA members a 20% discount on merchandise purchased through the West Music website. Simply join AMTA for the 2015 calendar year, then when you receive your welcome email, use the link provided to make your purchase and enjoy this one-time discount as a thank you for supporting music therapy through your AMTA membership. (Offer expires October 31, 2015 at 11:59 pm EST.) Thanks to West Music for providing this new AMTA member benefit and an amazing show of support for music therapy and music therapists!

November 2014 minutes

Please click the following link to view NER Minutes:

 

11.8.2014GenMemMtg- FINAL